rectangle  
 
 

Director
Staff
Faculty
QBI Executive Committee
External Advisory Board

Director

Michael Garavito Michael Garavito. (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
Director, Quantitative Biology Graduate Program
(garavito@msu.edu)

Staff

Helen Geiger Helen Geiger, Administrative Assistant
(517) 432-9895
geiger@msu.edu

Faculty

David Arnosti David Arnosti, (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology/Cell and Molecular Biology Program/Genetics Program) Identifying design principles of eukaryotic enhancers using embryonic gene expression in Drosophila (arnosti@msu.edu)
Michael Bagdasarian Michael Bagdasarian, (Microbiology and Molecular Genetics) Relation of structure and function of proteins constituting the Type II secretion apparatus in Gram-negative bacteria (bagdasa3@msu.edu)
Peter Bates, (Mathematics) Infinite-dimensional dynamical systems, nonlinear elliptic and parabolic PDE, phase transitions (bates@math.msu.edu)
Wolfgang Bauer Wolfgang Bauer, (Physics and Astronomy) Nuclear theory, in particular heavy ion reaction theory (bauer@pa.msu.edu)
Warren Beck Warren Beck, (Chemistry) Protein dynamics and reactions in proteins using fast laser spectroscopic methods (beck@msu.edu)
Simon Billinge Simon Billinge, (Physics and Astronomy) Study the relationship between local atomic structure and properties of materials using novel x-ray and neutron scattering techniques (billinge@msu.edu)
Gary Blanchard Gary Blanchard, (Chemistry) Focus is on understanding the structural and dynamical properties of heterogeneous lipid bilayer structures (blanchard@chemistry.msu.edu)
Robert Britton Robert Britton, (Microbiology and Molecular Genetics) Functional and structural genomics of ribosome assembly; systems biology of probiotic bacteria (rbritton@msu.edu)
C. Titus Brown C. Titus Brown, (Computer Science and Engineering/Microbiology and Molecular Genetics/Quantitative Biology and Modeling) Regulatory genomics and data integration pipelines. Gene regulatory network models of vertebrate development
C. Titus Brown Robin Buell, (Plant Biology) Bioinformatics, Functional Genomics, and Systems Biology of plant and plant pathogens genomes (buell@msu.edu)
Christina Chan Christina Chan, (Chemical Engineering and Material Science) Integrating various levels of information from genetic expression to metabolic data (krischan@egr.msu.edu)
Hans Cheng Hans Cheng, (USDA—ARS Avian Disease and Oncology Laboratory) Structural and functional genomics of disease resistance in chicken (hcheng@msu.edu)
James Cole James Cole, (Microbial Ecology Center) The Ribosomal Database Project (RDP) provides ribosome related data services to the scientific community (colej@msu.edu)
Yuehua Cui Yuehua Cui, (Statistics and Probability) Statistical (epi)genetics/genomics, longitudinal data analysis. (cui@stt.msu.edu)
Robert Cukier Robert Cukier, (Chemistry) Quantum and classical mechanics methods development for simulation of reaction mechanisms in enzymes; New methods to accelerate protein configuration space exploration to probe large-scale conformational motions. (cukier@chemistry.msu.edu)
Phillip Duxbury Phillip Duxbury, (Physics and Astronomy) Statistical Mechanics, Disordered Systems, Materials Theory, Computational Physics (duxbury@pa.msu.edu)
Ian Dworkin Ian Dworkin, (Zoology) Genetic and genomic analysis of biological shape including multivariate statistical modeling (idworkin@msu.edu)
Eva Farre Eva Farre, (Plant Biology) The plant circadian clock signaling network (farre@msu.edu)
Michael Feig Michael Feig, (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology/Chemistry) Modeling of supramolecular assemblies and membrane environments. Protein structure prediction and refinement (feig@msu.edu)
Shelagh Ferguson-Miller Shelagh Ferguson-Miller, (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) Cytochrome c oxidases, protein structure and computation (fergus20@msu.edu)
Wenjiang Fu Wenjiang Fu, (Epidemiology) Statistical and epidemiological research, including cancer studies, and methodological research in statistical computing and clinical trials (fuw@msu.edu)
Michael Garavito Michael Garavito, (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) Elucidation of structure-function relationships in membrane proteins and molecular complexes using macromolecular crystallography and other biophysical methods (garavito@msu.edu)
Joseph Gardiner Joseph Gardiner, (Epidemiology) Development of models that reflect the experience of patients in sustained and changing states of health, and methods for analyzing jointly both cost and effectiveness measures using multivariate methods from survival analyses (gardine3@msu.edu)
Thomas Getty Thomas Getty, (Zoology/Kellogg Biological Station) Evolution of signaling, social behavior and life history strategies (getty@kbs.msu.edu)
Erik Goodman Erik Goodman, (Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering) The Genetic Algorithms Research and Applications Group (GARAGe) studies and advances evolutionary computation, building on principles abstracted from nature (goodman@egr.msu.edu)
Michael Harrison Michael Harrison, (Physics and Astronomy) Physics of sensory thresholds in primates: signal-to-noise factors in theoretical neuroscience (harrison@pa.msu.edu)
William Hartmann William Hartmann, (Physics and Astronomy) Systems Biology. Test theories of sound localization and binaural hearing against experiments on human listeners (hartmann@pa.msu.edu)
Robert Hausinger Robert Hausinger, (Microbiology and Molecular Genetics/Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) structure/function studies of enzymes and biological processes involving metal ions (hausinge@msu.edu)
Daniel Hayes Daniel Hayes, (Fisheries and Wildlife) Determine how fish habitat affects their population dynamics, general ecology of fishes (hayesdan@msu.edu)
Charles Hoogstraten Charles Hoogstraten, (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology/Cell and Molecular Biology Program) RNA catalysis and RNA-protein interactions; biomolecular NMR and EPR methods and applications(hoogstr3@msu.edu)
Julius Jackson Julius Jackson, (Microbiology and Molecular Genetics) Gene and protein sequence in evolution (jhjacksn@msu.edu)
Ning Jiang Ning Jiang, (Horticulture) The contribution of transposable elements to genome evolution (jiangn@msu.edu)
Ning Jiang Christopher Klausmeier, (Plant Biology/Kellogg Biological Station) Theoretical population, community, ecosystem and evolutionary ecology (klausme1@msu.edu)
Jason Knott Jason Knott, (Animal Science) Developmental epigenetics, embryonic development, and embryonic stem (ES) cells; ChIP-chip and RNAi (knottj@msu.edu)
Lee Kroos Lee Kroos, (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology/Microbiology and Molecular Genetics) Determining the structures of bacterial transcription factors; Molecular mechanisms of signaling and gene regulation during bacterial development (kroos@msu.edu)
Leslie Kuhn Leslie Kuhn, (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) Developing computational approaches for protein folding, ligand interactions, and design (KuhnL@msu.edu)
Lisa Lapidus Lisa Lapidus, (Physics and Astronomy) Fast protein folding processes studied by optical spectroscopy and ultrarapid mixing; and developing a universal description of the unfolded state of proteins (lapidus@msu.edu)
Richard Lenski Richard Lenski, (Crop and Soil Science/Microbiology and Molecular Genetics/Zoology) Experimental evolution, Escherichia coli and Digital organisms in the Avida system (lenski@msu.edu)
Qing Lu Qing Lu, (Epidemiology) Development of statistical methods for 1) predicting genetic testing and 2) genetic association study, and applying them in collaborative research (qlu@msu.edu)
Jeff MacKeigan Jeff MacKeigan, (Systems Biology, Van Andel Research Institute) RNAi & Proteomic Approaches for Quantitative Analysis of Molecular Pathways (kinases & phosphatases) (jeff.mackeigan@vai.org)
Tapabrata Maiti Tapabrata Maiti, (Statistics and Probability) Bayes and Empirical Bayes methods to analyze microarray data (maiti@stt.msu.edu)
Terence Marsh Terence Marsh, (Microbiology and Molecular Genetics) Genomic plasticity in Ralstonia picketti and JGI sequencing two isolates (marsht@msu.edu)
John McCracken John McCracken, (Chemistry) Development and use of Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) Spectroscopy for the structural characterization of paramagnetic centers in biologicalsystems (mccracke@msu.edu)
Mark Meerschaert Mark Meerschaert , (Statistics and Probability) Fractional reproduction-dispersion equations and heavy tailed dispersal kernels. Fractal gene models (mcubed@stt.msu.edu)
Charles Ofria Charles Ofria, (Computer Science and Engineering) Experimental evolution with digital organisms; applied evolution for solving computational problems (ofria@msu.edu)
Piotr Piecuch Piotr Piecuch, (Chemistry) (piecuch@cem.msu.edu)
Carlo Piermarocchi Carlo Piermarocchi, (Physics and Astronomy) Optimal Control Theory and Non-equilibrium Statistical Mechanics of Regulatory Gene Networks (piermaro@msu.edu)
Sakti Pramanik, (Computer Science and Engineering) Search algorithms for Genome Sequence databases and Profile Hidden Markov Models (pramanik@cse.msu.edu)
William Punch William Punch,(Computer Science and Engineering) (punch@cse.msu.edu)
Gemma Reguera Gemma Reguera, (Microbiology and Molecular Genetics) Genomic analyses of Geobacterbiofilms, and electronic nanocomponents in Geobacter biofilms (reguera@msu.edu)
Thomas Schmidt Thomas Schmidt, (Microbiology and Molecular Genetics) Relationships between structure and function of complex microbial communities (tschmidt@msu.edu)
Yair Shachar-Hill Yair Shachar-Hill, (Plant Biology) We study metabolic networks in plant systems including developing seeds and mycorrhizas. (yairhill@msu.edu)
Alexander Shingleton Alexander Shingleton (Zoology/Ecology, Evolutionary Biology & Behavior Program/Genetics Program) Modeling the developmental regulation and evolution of body and organ size in animals. (shingle9@msu.edu)
Shinhan Shiu Shin-Han Shiu (Plant Biology) Comparative and evolutionary genomics, gene family evolution and duplicate gene fate. shius@no_spam.msu.edu (remove "no_spam")
Juan Steibel Juan Steibel, (Animal Science/Fisheries and Wildlife) Statistical genetics and genomics. Experimental designs and statistical models to uncover the genetics basis of phenotypic and transcriptomic variation in animal species. (steibelj@msu.edu)
Yanni Sun Yanni Sun, (Computer Science and Engineering) Similarity search in large-scale database; protein homology classification; ncRNA identification (yannisun@cse.msu.edu)
Moxun Tang Moxun Tang, (Mathematics) Diffusion and spatial localization of sequence specific transcription factors in eukaryotic nuclei, and their regulatory functions of gene transcription (tang@math.msu.edu)
Rob Tempelman Rob Tempelman, (Animal Science/Statistics and Probability) Hierarchical Bayesian methods applied to quantitative genetics and genomics inference under diverse environments. (tempelma@msu.edu)
David Tomanek David Tomanek, (Physics and Astronomy) Nanostructures (tomanek@pa.msu.edu)
Eric Torng Eric Torng, (Computer Science and Engineering) Developing algorithms for identifying disulfide bonds given mass spectral data; Evaluating and developing algorithms for phylogeny reconstruction (torng@msu.edu)
Richard Triemer Richard Triemer, (Plant Biology) Molecular phylogenetics and comparative chloroplast genomics in euglenophytes (triemer@plantbiology.msu.edu)
Claire Vieille Claire Vieille , (Microbiology and Molecular Genetics/Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) Studying the determinants of protein thermostability using hyperthermophilic enzymes as models ; Changing enzyme substrate and cofactor specificities, changing enzyme stability to temperature and pH; Comparing flexibility in mesophilic and hyperthermophilic proteins by NMR and molecular dynamics (vieille@msu.edu)
Guo-wei Wei Guo-wei Wei, (Mathematics) Advanced numerical methods for the structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules. ( wei@math.msu.edu)
David Weliky David Weliky, (Chemistry/Cell and Molecular Biology Program) NMR and crystallography for structure determination of viral fusion peptides and proteins (weliky@cem.msu.edu)
David Wenkert Barry Williams, (Zoology/Microbiology and Molecular Genetics) Empirical demonstration of the link between protein structure, gene function, and organismal fitness(barryw@msu.edu)
Honggao Yan Honggao Yan, (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) Protein structure, function and dynamics with applications to protein engineering and structure-based drug design (yanh@msu.edu)